Perspective

We’re heading in to a gubernatorial primary in early August. I admit I haven’t been paying much attention to the campaign chatter, but I’m almost certain that, at some point, the following dig has been uttered: “Candidate X is a great person, but he/she has just been too involved in the machine of government too long. They need to get out of the bubble [of St. Paul] and see what it’s really like here in the great state of Minnesota.”

I’ve been thinking about that dig a lot, because I left the bubble of the ad industry earlier this month when my daughter and I fled the state to visit my folks in New England for a long weekend. They live in semi-rural Connecticut. Close enough to big city stuff that my mom can commute to work in New Haven in about twenty minutes. But far enough from it all that my Twitter radar pulled up a pretty much empty map of tweets in the area where I was staying.

Whether out on a walk in the semi-boonies or in the heart of my folks’ town: the Tweets were sparse at best.

It put some generally-accepted stats about Twitter use in perspective. (For example, only a bare minimum of the 55 million tweets posted DAILY seem to be coming from the areas in the Tweet radar maps below.)

It was also good proof of my own need to peek up and out of the machine myself every so often.

Leave a Reply

