A Windy Day

On a flight enroute to St. Louis yesterday morning I just happened to look out my window just as we were flying over one of the windfarms in southern Minnesota or northern Iowa. You could just barely make out dozens of little (from up there) shafts and see the three-fan blades spinning, thanks to their reflections in the snow.

I LOVE windmills. As far back as I can remember these things have just really excited me. So seeing them yesterday seemed like a funny coincidence.

Also funny coincidence: the day before yesterday one of the blogs I love to follow–Climate Progress–had a post in which they reported that America’s installed wind capacity grew 39% in 2009. Very cool. (Extra points if you can guess which state leads the U.S. in terms of the wind power it produces. I was a little surprised.)

One thought on “A Windy Day

Leave a Reply

