2010 – The Year I Will WordPress

Folks who know me closely enough know that I’m a big science fiction fan. Asimov, Bova, Bradbury and Simak are just a few of the authors who have rocked–and continue to rock–my world worlds. (Hey, we’re talking sci fi. Remember?) A major title on my virtual bookshelf is Arthur C. Clarke’s 2010: Odyssey Two. Hollywood’s movie version from 1984 included the promotional subtitle “The Year We Make Contact.”

I thought about that subtitle a lot during the waning weeks of 2009, the first full year that saw me connecting with others – friends, family, coworkers, and complete strangers – online on Twitter and Facebook.

What might I do differently in 2010 to make contact?

When a coworker and I struck up a conversation about Groundswell the last week before the Holidays, I thought a bit about the Social Technographics Profile introduced in the book. I’ve been among the 24% of online US adults who it profiled as “creators” only if one counts Twitter’s microblogging functionality. If microblogging doesn’t count, I’m lumped in amongst the spectators and critics. Not the best way to make contact in 2010.

So we’ll give this a try. More to come as 2010 gets underway.

Leave a Reply

